Tuesday Tea

Oolong Tea. This tea has been touted as an antioxidant that helps with weight loss, promoting heart health and reducing high blood pressure and treating skin disorders. I just really love its nutty, no frills flavor. I prefer to drink it after lunch as it helps settle my stomach and keeps the digestive tract moving. I bought the Triple Leaf brand at Sprouts.

eventpic_576CLEAN EATING

With the onset of warm weather, the presence of more fruits and vegetables in the markets and the pure and simple need to put food into my body that I can pronounce, I’m on a mission to make and eat more foods that are in their most natural state. We eat pretty well in my house, but there’s always room for improvement.  Ok, so I may have to steam my broccoli versus eating it raw because, well, that just keeps me from dipping it in dressing I don’t need. I figure as long as I’m not adding it to a cheesy casserole, I’m a giant step ahead.

You may remember I’ve been here before back when I did the summer real food challenge. I introduced my family to some great recipes we still eat to this day.  One of the best things I learned then, and even now, is I don’t have to slave in the kitchen to eat this way.  And trust me, if I had to, I wouldn’t do it.  Every Friday or Saturday, I plan our meals for the following week.  I go to the store and load my fridge with the good stuff – lots of green, red, orange and yellow – and most of our dinners consist of simple eats like a veggie, pita and hummus plate or quinoa salad with apple slices.  I like to eat light at night and it’s a win-win for me because I avoid the exhaustive meal prep, I eat right and I leave the table feeling satisfied but not full. I really hate that full feeling, don’t you?  It’s just not necessary and it makes me feel bad and a tad bit grumpy.

IMG_2261edit

damndelicious.net

Tonight we had the Chopped salad with cilantro lime dressing from Damn Delicious. The one thing I changed is I replaced the yogurt in the dressing with half an avocado.  It was still creamy and, yes, damn delicious.  I will certainly make this again.

Do you have any favorite “clean eating” websites?  If so, please share! 

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes, Tuesday Tea

Leave a Reply

