Tuesday Tea

Pu-erh Tea. A very mild, earthy tea from the Yunnan province of China, best known for improving mental alertness and sharp thinking. It is also used for reducing bad cholesterol and assisting in weight loss. I drink two cups in the morning after breakfast.

eventpic_576A few months ago, I had the privilege of going through Franklin Covey’s 7 Habits of Highly Effective People training at work. It was a very dynamic and engaging two-day course that has continued to challenge me (in a good way) several weeks later. In Habit #2 – Begin with the End in Mind – they ask you to write your own personal mission statement. A statement that focuses on what you want to be and do; your plan for success. It reaffirms who you are, puts your goals in focus, and moves your ideas into the real world. Your mission statement makes you the leader of your own life. It challenges you to begin each day, task, or project with a clear vision of your desired direction and destination.  

While I’m not yet ready to divulge my destination goal, when writing my mission statement, words like simplicity, mindfulness, meditative, present and contentment dominated my thoughts, and my pencil, while I quickly scrawled out my life in the allotted five minutes. In my mind, these things – these frames of mind – are all interconnected and don’t exist without the other, or at least not at their full potential. I strive for simplicity so I can de-clutter my space and my mind, and make more room for the things that, ultimately, give me contentment and peace. Yes, I am still a novice at this, albeit a spirited one!

My morning walks and meditation have resumed and, oh, how I love this one little hour in the day. I use my walking time to think about what I want to accomplish in the next 15 hours towards my mission, and the meditation time to completely close my mind and just focus on my breathing. I know life is going to get noisy once I hop in the shower, so that time gives me the peace I need to get going. Pair it with a little tea, and I’m off to a great start.

I would like to use this space on Tuesday’s to continue on this adventure, and I would be delighted if you’d join me. What are some key words or phrases in your personal mission statement? 

Leave a comment

Filed under Tuesday Tea

Leave a Reply

