Real Food Challenge: Week One

I’m so excited to share with you the Challenge I am embarking on for the month of August – The Real Food Challenge.  During the month, I will be more mindful of eating foods that are whole (in their most natural state) and very minimally processed.  That means lots of fruits and veggies, whole grains, nuts, fish, lean meats and organic dairy.  Check out this link for more details and follow me along on my journey. 

Eating well is something I always endeavor to do and, for the most part, my little family is pretty good at it.  My 3-year-old eats well because we introduced her to various healthy foods early on (I’ll share more on this later).  However, to make it something that is part of my daily routine; something that requires more planning and organization, that’s where the Challenge begins.  On Friday night, I sat down and planned our lunch/dinner menu for the week, thanks to some of my trusty nutritious recipes and this fabulous website.    DSC01328After stocking up at our local Sprouts, I spent a small portion of my Sunday afternoon prepping food for our weekly lunches – washing and cutting vegetables and boiling eggs.  Lucky for me, weekday lunches are easy because my company provides employee meals that always include a nice salad bar.  This also allows me to focus on keeping my family eating healthy while we’re apart during the day (you’re welcome honey!).

DSC01331

DSC01333

Monday’s Lunch for D: Egg salad sandwich with plain greek yogurt on whole wheat bread, grapes and carrot sticks

Sunday night, I tried a new Tomato Pie recipe and found it was not only tasty but a hit with my two biggest judges.  With a homemade whole-wheat crust, roma tomatoes, corn (I used frozen kernels), basil and cheddar cheese, it was nutritious, had T going back for seconds and D eating most of it before her usual himing and hawing.  It’s one we’ll certainly keep in the book.

DSC01332

DSC01336I look forward to sharing more with you in the coming days.  Please also feel free to post comments or email me as we go along.  Your thoughts and recommendations are welcome.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Challenge, Recipes

One response to “Real Food Challenge: Week One

  1. Grandma Cheryl

    It looks very good. Good job mom!

Leave a Reply

