A Birthday Crown

Since the birth of my daughter, I have been in search for a birthday crown that she can wear year after year.  It needed to be a timeless crown that could grow with her into her pre-teen years (a mom can wish!).  I also preferred it to be homemade, but this mama had no idea where to start.  Then inspiration struck while visiting Mosey Handmade over at Etsy.  Alas, I had found the perfect thing… a felt crown with ribbon ties!  With no sewing machine, I was tempted to purchase one – afterall, they are adorable – but I still wanted it to be something I put together and created, personally, with D in mind.

Knowing we had an impending visit with a mother-in-law who, you guessed it, has a sewing machine, I did a little pleading, we did a little shopping and, voila, a crown was made specially for D.  I couldn’t be happier with how it turned out and it was a fun little project for mama and Gigi to boot.

So, starting with her third birthday, we will have a crown to don proudly.  Better late than never, right?

6 Comments

Filed under Creations, Kid Stuff

6 responses to “A Birthday Crown

  1. What a great idea! I love this one that you’ve made. It is so adorable.

    • Thank you Heather! We are so happy with how well it turned out – and it’s really easy if you know how to sew (my MIL did all the sewing on this one because it required straight lines and I’m still a, ahem, beginner :)).

  2. Cheryl

    Good job mom! It is so cute and there is not another one out there like it.

  3. heather! thanks so much for linking us, we love that we inspired you a wee bit to create such a wonderful magical crown for your girl. happiest birthday to her and you!

Leave a Reply

