Finding time

Oh boy, I have some catching up to do.  I have a scarf to finish while it’s still cold out, I have magazines to start AND finish (yes, there is a September issue still in the pile) and I have a book that I just can’t seem to get beyond the first chapter.  This has nothing to do with the book, mind you.  It has everything to do with the fact that I save it for an end of the day treat for myself, but when I get into my cozy bed, my tired eyes just won’t have that conversation with my brain – ahem.

Here’s the truth – I have a habit of prioritizing responsibilities over things I enjoy doing and often my time and energy is spent before I pull out the needles or open my book.  Not a good plan at all.  In my efforts to slow down more, I’m learning to let some things go, like turning a blind eye to the dusty furniture in favor of taking a walk to the park or watching a movie.  It’s a slow process mind you because I do love a clean house and an orderly garage and a mowed lawn and a brushed dog.  But I also love a good book, a finished scarf and an impromptu dance party.

I think with some good planning and a dash a realism, I can enjoy a more even balance in my days.  What do you do to find balance?

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

