The Joy of Family

When we were younger, my older sister and I would often complain that most of our family vacations revolved around visiting grandparents – versus going to the beach, Disneyland, what have you.  It wasn’t until I was in high school did I start to realize how lucky we were to still have healthy, active grandparents to visit and share time with.  And now that I’m a mother, I truly relish the moments D spends with her grandparents.

Our closest family is about 400 miles away, so when we do plan vacations they often involve grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins.  As our number of years continues to grow and distance continues to separate us, we use what vacation time we have to come together; we like it this way.  And, as fortunate as we have been, we have found ourselves together at the beach, Disneyland, what have you.

I find pride in building the importance of family in the mind of my child.  D has a Life Book that includes key milestones, memories, travel, etc.  After every vacation, I update it with special memories that I want to hold near and dear for both her and us.  In reading through the growing pages, I find the most joy in the solid familial foundation we have layed out for her thus far, and it is my hope that she will continue to find joy in these special moments.

:: To see more photos from our trip, please visit our page on Flickr ::

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Travels

One response to “The Joy of Family

  1. Cheryl

    Making memories with the people you love is what it is ALL about! Great pictures. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

