Mama needs a new pair of shoes…

Running shoes that is.  There is something about new running shoes that, even for a brief instant, make me feel like I can conquer anything in the great outdoors.  Of course, that’s until I start out and realize my current state of physical fitness will let me conquer just about anything under a mile…not something I’m proud of given my capabilities.

But instead of droning through my list of excuses, I get up early, put on my new uninitiated shoes, buckle up the excited dog who knows no time and off we go.  Those first steps out the door are usually accompanied by thoughts of “how can it still be this warm at this hour?” but soon we are picking up the pace and then my steps take on a new (and fully cushioned) bounce; we’re jogging along happily now.

The neighborhood is colored in a pinkish-purple glow of the rising yet still hidden sun.  Everything is quiet, except for a couple neighbors who, like us, are trying to squeeze in some outdoor time before the sun comes over the mountains blazin’ in all its glory.  It’s a small window this time of year.

As we turn back home, I’m feeling great about what I’ve already accomplished with my day – time with nature, check; time to myself, check; physical well-being, check; one happy dog, check.

Let’s see where my shoes will take me tomorrow.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Mama needs a new pair of shoes…

  1. I love this post! I totally get a mental picture of your morning, and can absolutely identify with that feeling of satisfaction afterwards. Keep it up!

  2. Thanks Mandi. I hope you’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

