Perseverance

cutcaster.com

This is the current word that is possessing my every thought and action right now.  While understanding and embracing it is admirable, it’s also down right exhausting.  Every day, facing a battle I knew I wasn’t going to win no matter how hard I tried or what defense I had.  Having the towel wrung in my hand ready to throw in, but knowing I had to keep a tight reign on it.  Phew, it is tough just thinking about it, but this has been at my center for the past two months.

What has kept me going?  A wonderful husband, a beautiful daughter and supportive parents.  I kept that towel in my hand because of them and my responsibilities to them as a wife, mother and daughter.  I recently saw a funny “math problem” that explains this perfectly:

New Math by Craig Danrauer
Maturity =  Things you used to do – Things you used to do

Oh how I dreamt of just standing up and walking out on conversations I felt were ridiculous and didn’t deserve one more second of my precious time; all the while waving the bird and leaving a hearty guffaw in my wake.  Yes, it was indeed just a dream from that little percent of child-like behavior that is still in me (I am human, afterall).  But now in adulthood, I understand and know the great things that can happen with a little perseverance (or a lot!). And when it pays off, I have a hairstylist to color in my gray hairs and a massage therapist to rub away the knots.  Ahh, maturity does come with some fine points!

What is your word right now?

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

