Chicken Soup for the…Nose

Chicken noodle soup is something you never see me eat unless, of course, I have a cold, then it’s the best thing in the world.  This year, I’ve already had my fair share of the sniffles given my relentless need to fill my daughter’s face with kisses, so this has been a staple on our menu this season.

 

I generally don’t eat canned soup, so I set out to find a nice, easy homemade recipe that I can whip up even when I’m under the weather.  Well, I’ve found it – thanks to the folks at Cooking Light!  It’s made up of fresh carrots, celery, onions, rotisserie chicken and rotini noodles.  If you are looking for a healthy, hearty chicken soup recipe, I say give it a try.  I usually start to feel better before I even see the bottom of the bowl!

Chicken Noodle Soup
Cooking Light Magazine

2 c water
1 (32 oz) carton fat-free chicken, less-sodium chicken broth
1 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 c chopped onion
1/2 c chopped celery
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1 medium carrot, chopped
6 oz fusilli pasta (I use Rotini)
2 1/2 c shredded skinless, boneless rotisserie chicken breast (to save money, I just use a regular chicken breast and boil it with 1/2 an onion for 45 mins, then shred it)
2 Tbsp chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley (I usually don’t add this)

Combine 2 cups water and chicken broth in a microwave-safe dish and microwave on HIGH for 5 mins. While the broth mixture heats, heat a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add onion, celery, salt, pepper and carrot; saute 3 mins or until almost tender, stirring frequently. Add hot broth mixture and pasta; bring to a boil. Cook 7 mins or until pasta is almost al dente. Stir in chicken; cook 1 min or until thoroughly heated. Stir in parsley. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

