Things I Love Thursday: Chocolate Chip Cookies

Oh so simple to make, yet my favorite treat of all time.  We have a restaurant here called Oregano’s where Tyson and I both celebrate our birthday’s each year.  My reason?  Not only is the ambiance perfect with people watching, outdoor patio seating that resembles a Chicago park, superior service and Frank Sinatra music, they claim my favorite dessert – a just-baked, still hot in the skillet, gooey, melt-in-your-mouth, spoon-required chocolate chip cookie with dollops of vanilla ice cream on top.  Absolute perfection.  Actually, I should dedicate this post to Oregano’s instead…maybe next time.

My typically dormant sweet tooth has come out with a vengeance during this pregnancy and I just can’t seem to get enough of anything sweet (thankfully, this also includes fruits, so I try to indulge in those more than chocolate).  So, today I decided to make some chocolate chip cookies while I still have the time and energy to bake.  I love the simple Nestle Tollhouse recipe because the cookies manage to stay soft after a few days, and it’s important that they remain soft because neither one of us are fans of a crunchy cookie.  Here’s to a little indulgence from time to time.

Check out what other people love this week over at Diaper Diaries.

3 Comments

Filed under Things I Love Thursday

3 responses to “Things I Love Thursday: Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Oregano’s–are you in Arizona?! I’ve heard that place is great, but I’ve never been in (tried once but the line was too long).

    I just made a batch of chocolate chip cookies last night (though I used a mix and even managed to botch that, not my best day yesterday, still they tasted good and that’s what counts, right?). Yummm!

  2. Thanks for your comment. Yes, I’m in Arizona and yes, you’ve heard right – Oregano’s is a great place. The wait is always long in the evenings and on weekends, but I swear it’s worth it. They usually serve pizza samples while you’re waiting, so that helps if you’re famished. 😉

    I know how you feel with the cookies – sometimes we just have those days when we need to stay out of the kitchen – haha. If they still tasted good, then no one needs to know. 😉

    Are you in Arizona?

  3. Those cookies look wonderful! I have not successfully made chocolate chip cookies since I’ve been here. I have a friend who imports chocolate chips and other ingredients that are just a little different here… and then make real American chocolate chip cookies. Wonderful!

Leave a Reply

