Enjoying Spring…

I love spring.  I love the vast array of colors that temporarily cover an otherwise brown desert landscape.  I love the wildlife that run through our back wash; the momma birds building their nests to lay their eggs, the coyote packs on the hunt and the new jackrabbits that dare to step through our fence only to be greeted by great canine enthusiasm (read: barks and wagging tails).

Over at Simple Mom she provides 20 great ways you can enjoy springtime.  In my endeavor to lead a more simple life, I’m taking on one of the given tasks – eating meals outside.  Typically we enjoy a few meals on the patio during this time of year, but this year we are making a habit of it.  With this lovely weather lasting only a couple months here, it’s worth every effort.  We turn off the TV (easy to do since downsizing to basic cable), turn off the computers and step outside until the sun goes down.  It’s a great way for the two of us to sit and enjoy each other’s company – whether we’re discussing the day’s events or just sitting in silence enjoying the sights and sounds that surround us.

Being the outdoor enthusiasts that we are, it’s surprising to find that it still takes some valid effort to do this every day, especially after a long day at work.  However, I find that my evenings and bedtime are much more peaceful when I end my day this way.

I hope you are enjoying spring wherever you are.

Wildflower photos taken by Tyson around our neighborhood

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Enjoying Spring…

  1. Beautiful! Thank you for sharing! I'm looking forward to checking out Simple Mom's list…We are still awaiting spring here, but I see signs of its soon arrival… the trees have buds, the daffodils are just about ready to open, the weather is getting a little warmer. Wonderful anticipation!

Leave a Reply

