A Handy Resolution


Over the past few months, I’ve been inspired by a few women who are, in my opinion, the epitome of handy.  These are women who are mothers, sewers, knitters, bakers, cooks, writers, teachers – and they seem to have the energy and organization to handle it all.

Growing up, my mom would sit down at her sewing machine and whip up anything from an outfit to window coverings.  To this day, I still have pants and skirts that are waiting to be hemmed during her next visit.  My mother-in-law is the ultimate knitter.  I’m trying to convince her to start selling her amazing dresses, tops and hats, as there is no intricate detail she cannot do.  Our baby girl already has a beautiful blanket and a couple tops “on order” for her arrival.

In my research to seek inspiration in motherhood, I came across a couple blogs written by women, my age, who are ultimate crafters and teachers.  If you are interested in reading more about them, their blogs are Imaginechildhood.com and SouleMama (links are listed to the right of my blog page)

Being in my early 30’s, I now find it a little ridiculous that I cannot hem my own pants or knit anything more than a scarf.  I want to be able to go to the store, see something cute and say “I can make that.”  If my child can grow up and say I’m a handy mother, I will be very content.

So, my resolution this year (taking advantage of my nesting stage of pregnancy) is to start challenging my crafting skills and see what I can do.  My first action item is to take a sewing class to learn the basics.  I’ll keep you posted on how that goes in the coming weeks.

Happy New Year!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Handy Resolution

  1. Good luck Traci! You're a braver woman than I–I'm not handy one bit! Maybe I'll start sending all my mending to you… Love, Steph

  2. Pingback: Oh, mom « Life Simplistic

Leave a Reply

